If you own a vehicle in Texas, there are state inspection laws that drivers must abide by. Doing so will keep you from being pulled over and possibly prevent an accident.
State inspections take between 15 to 30 minutes while an inspector examines the following to ensure they are safe for use:
Once a car passes inspection, a sticker will be placed on the windshield, and you will be given documentation. The paperwork can be submitted to the state when it is time to renew vehicle registration.
To have your car inspected, you must bring the following documentation with you to the inspection site:
If you fail to bring these documents, inspectors will typically refuse to inspect your vehicle.
The state of Texas requires vehicles to pass safety inspections once a year. Otherwise, you cannot renew your registration, and there are no exceptions. Inspections take place at centers approved by the Texas Department of Public Safety. Residents can look up nearby locations online through the DPS website.
If you have recently moved to Texas, new residents are required to register their vehicles within 30 days. As a result, they must schedule and pass a car inspection before that deadline. Out-of-state inspections will not be accepted.
Inspections for passenger cars, trucks, or SUVs in Texas cost $25.50, but the fee is not due at the testing site. Instead, drivers must pay it when renewing their registration. Car registration is an additional $14.25; therefore, most residents pay $39.75 total.
Vehicles often fail annual safety inspections in Texas due to one of the following:
Headlights, tail lights, brake lights, and turning indicators have to be in working order. If the lights are broken or burned out, the car will not pass inspection.
Worn Out Tires
A car will fail inspection if a tire’s tread is too low. Worn-out tires increase the chance of a driver losing control on a wet or icy road.
If a crack on a windshield or window is large enough to obstruct a driver’s view, the car will fail inspection
A car’s brakes must be in good condition and working as they should.
Broken Windshield Wipers
If a car’s windshield wipers are damaged or do not work, the vehicle will not pass.
If a car’s tint is so dark that it prevents a driver from seeing clearly, the inspector will not pass the car.
When a car fails its safety inspection, drivers typically have 15 days to fix the issue and have it re-tested. If the vehicle fails inspection once more, the driver cannot renew their registration.