Serving Justice

Motorcycle Laws Regarding Children in Texas

March 31, 2023Motorcycle Accidents

Keeping children safe is of critical importance. If you are a motorcyclist who is also a parent, be sure to familiarize yourself with these motorcycle laws regarding children.

Texas Motorcycle Laws for Child Passengers

How Old Do You Have to be to Operate a Motorcycle?

To obtain a motorcycle license in Texas, applicants must be at least 15 years old and pass a motorcycle safety course. However, there are additional requirements for minors. 


Before a minor (aged 15-17) can enroll in a motorcycle safety course, minors must either:

  • Have a Class C learner license and a Driver Education form (DE-964) verifying that the 32 hours of the classroom phase has been completed or a collection certificate; or,
  • A provisional driver’s license.

Additional application requirements include submitting a signed high-school Verification of Enrollment and Attendance (VOE) form, an in-person authorization signature from a parent, and passing the skills exam. 

How Old Does a Passenger Have to be in Order to be Transported Via Motorcycle?

A passenger must be at least five years old to ride a motorcycle in Texas. They must also have their own footrests and handles, and the motorcycle has to be equipped with a permanent passenger seat or another seat firmly attached to the motorcycle behind or to the operator’s side. It is against the law to ride with a passenger in front of the operator. 

Additional factors to consider before taking a child for a motorcycle ride are whether they are tall enough to reach the footrests. If not, it may be challenging for them to remain steady on a sharp turn. Also, children should be able to comprehend the dangers of riding on a motorcycle and the importance of holding onto the handles. Safety belts can be purchased to harness a child to the operator to provide more protection. 

Is There a Helmet Law for Children?

Texas has a motorcycle helmet law, which states that all riders and passengers under the age of 21 are required to wear a helmet at all times. This law also applies to children and is in place to help protect riders from serious injuries in the event of an accident. Despite Texas’s helmet law, it is strongly recommended that all riders wear a helmet, regardless of age or experience. 

The helmet must meet all federal requirements, and young children will need to wear one that fits them properly to provide maximum protection. That involves measuring the child’s head, picking a helmet that is the right size, testing the fit to ensure it is snug but not too tight, and choosing one with a DOT label affixed to it. The Department of Transportation (DOT) is responsible for setting and enforcing safety standards for motorcycle helmets in the U.S. These standards are based on the Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard (FMVSS) 218 and are designed to reduce the risk of head injury in the event of a crash. All DOT-approved helmets must meet these standards and be marked with a “DOT” label.

Call Our Law Firm if You or Your Child is Injured in a Motorcycle Accident

If you or your child has been injured in a motorcycle accident in Texas, speak to our Houston motorcycle accident lawyer. We can help you or your child recover the full and fair financial compensation you need to cover medical bills, lost wages, and other damages allowed by law. Call (844) 223-2271 or message us online today.