Whether you carry Progressive or an at-fault driver does, it is one of the leading auto insurance providers in the country. As a result, if you are involved in a car accident in Texas, you may end up having to file an insurance claim with Progressive. Therefore, here are some important things to know.
There are two scenarios when you could file a Progressive claim after an accident in Texas.
The At-Fault Driver Has Progressive
Since Texas is an at-fault state, the driver responsible for causing the crash must pay for damages. Therefore, if another driver insured by Progressive caused your accident, you can file a claim directly with the auto insurance company. The insurer should already know about the collision by hearing about it from their policyholder, but if not, you can report it. An insurance adjuster will investigate the crash to determine who was at fault and whether they will accept or deny your claim. If they assume liability, they will make you a settlement offer.
You are Insured By Progressive
If you are insured by Progressive and have collision coverage, which is an optional form of insurance, you can file a claim regardless of who was at fault. Progressive will then pay for your damages up to policy limits, but you will have to pay your deductible. If another driver was to blame, Progressive would pursue a subrogation claim against the at-fault party’s insurer for reimbursement of the benefits paid out on your claim. As a result, you may receive your deductible back if they are successful.
There are three options for filing a claim with Progressive: through their mobile app, online, or by calling 1-800-776-4737. The fastest and easiest way is their app. You will have to provide the following:
Progressive attempts to resolve claims within seven to 14 days, but it will depend on the complexity of your case. Under Texas law, insurance companies have 15 days to acknowledge receipt of your claim and request additional information if necessary—for example, medical records, damage inspection, recorded statement, etc. Once all of the requested information is received, Progressive has 15 business days to approve or deny your claim in writing, but this deadline can be extended up to 45 days if they notify you they need more time and the reason why.
It is in your best interests to politely refuse to give a recorded statement if Progressive asks for one and speak to a Houston car accident lawyer first. This request is typically used to ask questions in a way that can make you admit fault and unintentionally hurt your claim. An attorney can handle all communication with Progressive on your behalf, including filing your claim. That way, you remain protected and ensure you will recover fair compensation.